What time is the debate? What to know before Trump and Biden take the stage

Your Local Election HQ

(NEXSTAR) – The first debate of the presidential race between President Donald Trump and former Vice President Joe Biden will happen on Tuesday.

The debate starts at 9 p.m. Eastern time, 6 p.m. Pacific time.

The debate on Tuesday is being held at Case Western University in Cleveland. This will be the first of three between the Democratic Party’s nominee and the Republican incumbent.

The 90-minute debate will be broken up into six 15-minute segments. A week before the event, the Commission on Presidential Debates announced the following expected topics:

  • The Trump and Biden records
  • The Supreme Court
  • Coronavirus
  • The Economy
  • Race and violence in U.S. cities
  • The integrity of the election

The topics have been selected by the moderator, “Fox News Sunday’s” Chris Wallace. The supervising commission said the topics were selected by Wallace and are subject to change based on the news cycle. Since the topics were announced, President Trump has nominated a new Supreme Court justice and faced an avalanche of question about his personal finances following a New York Times article indicating that he has paid little in taxes over most of the last two decades.

You can Watch the debate beginning at 9 p.m. (ET)/ 8 p.m. (CT). The major networks and Cable News outlets plan to carry the event live.

The vice presidential debate will follow from Salt Lake City on October 7. The remaining presidential forums will be held on October 15 in Miami and October 22 in Nashville.


Latest Posts

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Contact 10 On Your Side

Need 10 On Your Side?


Contact 10 On Your Side Click here for details.


Trending Stories

WAVY Twitter Widget

***Don’t Miss Module Removal CSS***

WAVY Facebook