Virginia closer to being a hands-free state

News

RICHMOND, Va. (WAVY) — Virginia lawmakers have passed a bill that would make it illegal to drive with a cell phone in your hand. 

Under HB1811/SB1341, drivers caught using a phone to check out apps, text or call could be fined $125 for a first offense, and then $250 for the second offense and every time after. 

Related: Family of Williamsburg mom killed after Snapchat post pleads for change in driving law

The new law would prohibit driving with your phone in your hand, but you’d still be able to talk on speaker with your phone somewhere else in the car. 

The current law only prohibits texting or writing an email while driving. 

The bill was passed in both the House and Senate. It would become law in January 2020 if the governor signs it. 

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Contact 10 On Your Side

Need 10 On Your Side?


Contact 10 On Your Side Click here for details.


Trending Stories

WAVY Twitter Widget

***Don’t Miss Module Removal CSS***

WAVY Facebook