ODU’s White and Larry among 8 picked for Va. Sports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019

debbie white pic_331967

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. (WAVY) —  In spring of 2019, eight new members will be inducted into the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame. Sports legends stemming from organizations such as The National Football League to NASCAR were selected by the Hall of Fame’s 30-member Honors Court.

To be eligible for nomination, the new members had to have been brought up in Virginia, or performed famously in the state.

The Virginia Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2019 will be: 

  • New Jersey native Wendy Larry used her time with the Old Dominion women’s basketball team to land her name in the Hall of Fame. Coaching the Monarchs to 559 wins over 25 seasons makes Larry an undisputed nominee for the class.
  • Debbie White is legendary to say the least. From her legacy as the first full-time female sportswriter in Virginia at the Daily Press from 1974-77 to working three decades with Old Dominion in their sports information and communications program, White has made her mark. 
  • William “Buster” O’Brien, the only Hampton Roads native to be nominated this year, is actually in more than one Hall of Fame. He holds a place in the University of Richmond’s Hall of Fame, the Virginia High School League’s Hall of Fame, and the Citrus Bowl’s Hall of Fame for his years as a quarterback. O’Brien is currently a judge in the City of Virginia Beach. 
  • Heath Miller, another NFL legend, brought home multiple bragging rights to Honaker, Virginia. Miller proved to be a legendary tight end, from his college years as a 2004 All-American with the University of Virginia, to his time with the Pittsburgh Steelers playing on two Super Bowl championship teams. He is also one of only 12 tight ends in NFL history with more than 6,000 receiving yards. 
  • Ruben Brown has been nominated for his 13-year NFL career success, which includes his time with the Chicago Bears and the Buffalo Bills.
  • Jeff Burton performed so well during his time in NASCAR, and currently with NBC Sports’ NASCAR coverage, that he earned his spot in the Class of 2019.
  • The only diver this year is Mark Lenzi of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The Olympian won gold back in the summer of 1992 for his 3-meter springboard event. Although Lenzi died in 2012, his legacy lands him in the Class of 2019. 
  • Longtime Colonial Athletic Association commissioner Tom Yeager oversaw the CAA from 1985 until 2016. During his time, the CAA produced 19 national team champions, 33 individual champions, 16 national individual champions and 17 national players of the year. 

The ceremony will be held in early April of 2019 at the Zeider’s American Dream Theater in Virginia Beach.

For further event information, click here.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending stories

Don't Miss

WAVY Twitter Widget

WAVY Facebook