Storm causes N.C. transportation officials to suspend six ferry routes

North Carolina

Photo Courtesy – NCDOT Ferry Division

RALEIGH, N.C. (WAVY) — According to the N.C. Department of Transportation, the decision has been made to suspend six ferry routes.

At 8 a.m. on Saturday, officials cited heavy wind and rain as the reason for the route suspensions.

Those suspended ferry routes include to and from Ocracoke Island, and the Currituck-Knotts Island, Southport-Fort Fisher and Cherry Branch-Minnesott Beach ferries.

The Aurora-Bayview ferry is continuing to run on its normal schedule.

Stay with for updates.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Weather Blogs

More Weather Blog

Don't Miss

WAVY Twitter Widget

WAVY Facebook

Trending stories