Dare County allows partial re-entry to areas south of Oregon Inlet after Hurricane Dorian


DARE COUNTY, N.C. (WAVY) – Dare County has allowed Priority Three re-entry for areas south of Oregon Inlet (Hatteras Island) at noon on Sunday following Hurricane Dorian.

Emergency Management officials at Dare County have allowed Priority Three re-entry to areas south of Hatteras Island which will be effective at noon on Sunday.

Priority Three individuals include non-residents, property owners, and employees of non-critical businesses.

Officials emphasize the importance of non-resident property owners and non-resident employees of non-critical businesses to have valid reentry permit and matching government-issued IDs, or a current tax bill.

All people going back following Hurricane Dorian’s damage are advised to drive slowly with caution due to sand and water still remaining on many of Hatteras Island’s roadways.

Areas north of Oregon Inlet will allow unrestricted access beginning Sunday at 4 p.m. These areas include Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo, Roanoke Island, Colington Island, Martin’s Point, and the Dare mainland.

The County’s online reentry permitting system information and process can be found at the County’s website.

Dangerous surf conditions are still in place so officials advise the community to check the National Weather Service’s site for updates.

Officials will meet again to determine the appropriate time for Priority Four, visitor reentry, is safe for Hatteras Island.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Contact 10 On Your Side

Need 10 On Your Side?

Contact 10 On Your Side Click here for details.

Weather Blogs

More Weather Blog

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

WAVY Twitter Widget

***Don’t Miss Module Removal CSS***

WAVY Facebook