SAN FRANCISCO (KRON) – Uber knows that safety is a concern for passengers.
Recently, they revised their background check policy to more frequently run checks on their drivers.
Now, they’ve launched two new features built into the app to help protect Uber riders during an active ride.
When in an active ride, Uber riders will see a safety toolkit pop up window in the Uber app.
It features two safety buttons.
One is called “911 assistance.”
It’s like a panic button — a quick way to reach police.
When you click that, your current Uber ride information will be displayed for you to share with the 911 operator — the make and model of the car, the license plate, and your current location.
Eventually, when you hit that 911 button in the app, all that information will be automatically delivered to the 911 call center.
You won’t have to do or say anything.
It’ll be more like a secret panic button.
They’re testing that advanced feature in five cities right now, on the East Coast.
The feature has yet to arrive in the Bay Area.
The second safety feature is called “Share My Ride.”
If you click this, details about your current ride are shared with up to 5 trusted contacts, like friends or family, that you have pre-assigned.
Your trusted contacts will be alerted you have started an Uber ride, they will see your location, where you are headed, and be alerted when you arrive to your destination.