VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. (WAVY) — Virginia Beach high school student-athletes will be required to get vaccinated against COVID-19 or get tested for the virus weekly.

Virginia Beach announced the new policy Tuesday, which goes into effect on Nov. 8 for all high school students who intend to participate in Virginia High School League (VHSL) winter activities or athletic conditioning that require a physical for participation.

Testing will be provided to families at no charge.

The Virginia Beach School Board met Tuesday night to discuss a safe schools update and COVID-19 health and safety mitigations.

Virginia Beach City Public Schools is the third division in the region to issue such a policy. Chesapeake schools issued one during a meeting Monday night, and Suffolk issued another earlier this month.

Virginia Beach and Chesapeake are also among local divisions to change the number of required quarantine days from 14 to 10 after exposure to COVID-19.

The school division also released a list of vaccine clinics for staff, students and families:

Week of Sept. 27
First shot, 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. 
Bayside High School    Wednesday, Sept. 29    
Kempsville Middle School    Thursday, Sept. 30    

Week of Oct. 4
First shot, 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. 
Tallwood High School  Wednesday, Oct. 6
First Colonial High School  Thursday Oct. 7

Week of Oct. 11
Second shot, 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Green Run High School    Monday, Oct. 11    
Tallwood High School    Wednesday, Oct. 13    
Bayside Middle School    Thursday, Oct. 14    

Week of Oct. 18
Second shot, 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
First Colonial High School    Monday, Oct. 18
Bayside High School    Wednesday, Oct. 20
Kempsville Middle School    Thursday, Oct. 21  

Week of Oct. 25
Second shot, 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. 
Tallwood High School  Wednesday, Oct. 27
First Colonial High School  Thursday, Oct. 28

Stay with WAVY.com for more information.