UPDATE: For the first time in 30 years, a new person is projected to represent Ward 4 in Norfolk. Longtime Councilman Paul Riddick is retiring as the current representative of the ward.

As of 6:15 a.m. Wednesday, J.P. Paige leads the race with 54% of the votes.

NORFOLK, Va. (WAVY) – Voters in Norfolk headed to the polls on Tuesday to choose representatives for City Council, School Board, and Virginia’s 3rd Congressional District.

3rd Congressional District

The race for the House of Representatives in Virginia’s 3rd Congressional District is contested this election. Republican candidate Terry Namkung is challenging Democratic incumbent Rep. Bobby Scott.

Namkung is a U.S. Air Force veteran who took his military service experience into the business world. He currently works on building energy solutions. He lists his top political priorities as reducing crime, creating jobs, and providing quality education.

Scott has represented the district in Congress for more than 30 years and is currently the chairman of the House Committee on Education and Labor. Before that, he served five years in the Virginia House of Delegates and 10 years in the Senate of Virginia.

City Council

A familiar name on Norfolk City Council will not be on the ballot this year. Councilman Paul Riddick has represented Ward 4 for 30 years. In March, he announced he would not seek re-election. Three candidates are vying for the seat: Erik DeSean Barrett, Phillip Hawkins Jr., and John “J.P.” Paige.

Barrett is a lifelong Norfolk resident and describes himself as a community “advocate for access.” If elected, his top priorities are to make sure the community is informed, connect the citizens with their city and representatives, support and promote creativity, empower civic leagues, and work with the faith communities to build strong partnerships to tackle challenges.

Hawkins was also born and raised in Norfolk. He has worked as a teacher with Norfolk Public Schools for 25 years and is currently the assistant principal at P.B. Young Sr. Elementary School. If elected, his top priorities are crime and public safety, affordable quality workforce house and neighborhood development, and education and economic development.

Paige is an Air Force veteran. He works with community leaders, stakeholders, and organizations to help curb violence in Norfolk. If elected, his top priorities are violence, education, flooding, and infrastructure.

Incumbent candidate in Norfolk’s Wards 2 and 3 are running unopposed, but council members from Wards 1 and 5 face challengers.

Ward 5 covers Ocean View. Incumbent Councilman Tommy Smigiel told WAVY voters in this Ward represented roughly 40% of the early vote numbers for all of Norfolk.

When it comes to what issues are on voters’ minds, candidates say it ranges from crime to education.

“It’s a hodgepodge of issues. Some is about traffic, believe it or not. I’ve had some questions about public schools… So it’s, it’s all over the place. Every voter that comes up has a different issue,” said Smigiel on Tuesday.

His challenger, Shurl Montgomery said, “We really need to take special initiatives, as the council is presently taking, to fight crime and loss of private property. It’s really something that I feel very close to.”

10 On Your Side will have the latest results on all the races in Norfolk. Candidates are listed in alphabetical order.

Virginia’s 3rd Congressional District

  • Terry Namkung (R)
  • Rep. Bobby Scott (D) – Incumbent

Norfolk City Council

Ward 1

  • Pádraig-Eóin “Patrick” Dalrymple
  • Martin Thomas – Incumbent

Ward 2

  • Courtney Doyle – Incumbent

Ward 3

  • Mamie Johnson – Incumbent

Ward 4

  • Erik DeSean Barrett
  • Phillip Hawkins, Jr.
  • John “J.P.” Paige

Ward 5

  • Shurl R. Montgomery
  • Tommy Smigiel, Jr. – Incumbent

Norfolk School Board

Ward 1

  • Dr. Adale Martin – Incumbent
  • Carly West Gelles

Ward 2

  • Tanya K. Bhasin – Incumbent

Ward 3

  • Mark S. Askew, Sr.
  • Carlos Clanton – Incumbent
  • John Sitka III

Ward 4

  • Tiffany R. Moore-Buffaloe
  • Leon Rouson – Incumbent

Ward 5

  • Lauren Dee Campsen – Incumbent