Live Blog: Luria defeats Taylor in 2nd District race, Dyer wins VB mayor race

Elaine Luria

HAMPTON ROADS, Va. (WAVY) — With polls closing at 7 p.m. in Virginia and at 7:30 p.m. in North Carolina, 10 On Your Side will continue to update this live blog with the latest election results as they come in.

You can also view candidate profiles and our team election coverage here.

11:19 p.m.  — Ben Davenport calls to concede to Bobby Dyer in the Virginia Beach mayor’s race. 

10:08 p.m. — Bobby Dyer elected as Virginia Beach’s next mayor. 

10:08 p.m. — Democrat and former Navy Commander Elaine Luria has defeated incumbent Republican and former Navy SEAL Scott Taylor in the race for Virginia’s 2nd District, according to NBC News. 

9:58 p.m. Luria pulls ahead by nearly 5,000 votes, 123,006 to 118,119 with 169 of 180 precincts reporting. 

9:47 p.m. – Rep. Scott Taylor regains the lead by a slim margin of roughly 1,100 votes with 91 percent of precincts reporting. 

9:11 p.m. — Luria takes a 4,000 vote lead of Rep. Scott Taylor in the 2nd District race with 90 percent of precincts reporting. 

9 p.m. — Non-profit founder, Virginia Tech graduate and former NFL player Aaron Rouse wins one of the two at-large Virginia Beach City Council positions. 

8:43 p.m. — Democrat Elaine Luria takes a lead over Rep. Scott Taylor by a few hundred votes with more than 80 percent of precincts reporting. 

8:29 p.m. — Rep. Scott Taylor leads Democrat Elaine Luria in the race for Virginia’s 2nd Congressional District 52 percent to 48 percent with 69 percent of precincts reporting. 

8:10 p.m. — Republican Rob Wittman is projected to win re-election in Virginia’s 1st Congressional District, the Associated Press projects. 8:13 p.m. — Democrat Donald McEachin wins re-election in Virginia’s 4th Congressional District, the Associated Press projects. 

7:40 p.m. — Democrat Jennifer Wexton is projected to defeat incumbent Republican Barbara Comstock in the race for Virginia’s 10th Congressional District, according to NBC News. 

7:05 p.m. — NBC News is projecting that Virginia Sen. Tim Kaine (D) has won reelection over Republican Corey Stewart. He was expected to easily win that race. 

In a tweet, Kaine thanked Virginians for picking him over the bombastic Stewart, a fervent supporter of President Donald Trump. “In the Senate, I’ll always listen to you. I’ll take your ideas and values to Washington, and keep fighting to solve your problems. We have to keep Virginia moving forward and put our country back on the right track. That starts now!” Kaine wrote. 

Stewart also addressed his supporters after learning the news Tuesday night. 

7 p.m. — Congressman Bobby Scott of Virginia’s 3rd Congressional District has won re-election. Scott, a Democrat, ran unopposed. 

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Election Day Links

More Election Day Links

Don't Miss

WAVY Twitter Widget

WAVY Facebook

Trending stories