Harvey, Irma, Maria retired as Atlantic storm names

Hurricane Irma_596945

Damaged houses are shown in the aftermath of Hurricane Irma, Monday, Sept. 11, 2017, in the Florida Keys. (Matt McClain/The Washington Post via AP, Pool)

(WAVY) — Harvey, Irma and Maria are names tied to massive destruction and death in 2017.

The World Meteorological Organization on Thursday decided the three would no longer be used as Atlantic tropical storm names.

All three names — along with Nate — were retired and replaced with Harold, Idalia, Margot and Nigel.

Ten hurricanes tore through the Atlantic in 2017. The trio of Harvey, Irma and Maria affected U.S. soil as major hurricanes of Category 3 or higher.

The season as a whole caused hundreds of billions of dollars in estimated damages. Puerto Rico struggled to restore water and power to its residents in the wake of Hurricane Maria.

Harvey, meanwhile, dropped trillions of gallons of rainfall over Texas and Louisiana over a six-day period last September. As much as four feet of rain fell in some areas.

The National Hurricane Center said the names chosen to replace Harvey, Irma, Maria and Nate will first appear on the 2023 list of Atlantic tropical storm names.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending stories

Weather Blogs

More Weather Blog

Don't Miss

WAVY Twitter Widget

WAVY Facebook