NORFOLK, Va. (WAVY) - Before you take a ride on the Tide, you might want to draw your attention to a few rules that, if broken, could hit your pocketbook or even land you in jail.
Norfolk City Council passed an ordinance in July and the new chapter of rules applies specifically to light rail passengers.
While some rules may seem obvious for transportation, some riders may need to think twice before bringing a pet or big suitcase onboard.
Take a look at some of the rules passed by Norfolk City Council.
Class 1 misdemeanors (can result in up to a $2,500 fine and/or up to 12 months jail time)
- Traveling across any guideway except for crosswalks
- Posting any signs or notices in any part of the light rail system
- Obstructing or tampering with a light rail passage
Class 2 misdemeanors (can result in up to a $1,000 fine and/or up to 6 months jail time)
- Operating sound-emitting devices
- Using a counterfeit ticket
Class 3 misdemeanors (can result in up to a $500 fine)
- Blocking aisles or handicapped areas of light rail vehicles
- Open containers of alcoholic beverages
- Using a flashlight, laser or object that projects flashing beams of light toward a vehicle
- Taking photos or videos that may interfere with anyone using the light rail
- Selling merchandise
Class 4 misdemeanors (can result in up to a $250 fine)
- Bringing an animal onboard (not including service animals)
- Failure to provide proof of fare payment, or not using ticket for intended routes
Find these rules, along with a complete list in " Chapter 34.2: Light Rail Public Transit Services " in the Norfolk City Code.
Police say a 2-year-old and a 23-year-old Navy sailor based in Virginia were killed in a crash on Interstate 64 in southern Indiana near Corydon.
Winter's bone chilling temperatures can wreak havoc at your home, sometimes leading to frozen pipes.
A pet adoption discount is helping animals in Hampton Roads find new homes.