NEWPORT NEWS, Va. (WAVY) - A new law in Virginia states boaters must take a safety course, which brought sea farers to Newport News Saturday.
Marine Patrol offered the Virginia Boaters Classroom course for anyone age 12 and older. The class was free.
The law states boaters 40 years old and younger must show proof that they have completed a boating safety course. Topics included understanding navigation signs and obeying boating laws.
Camden County Sheriff Tony Perry said that during the last two weeks, incidents of breaking and entering and home or vehicle larceny have increased in two areas of the county.
A Facebook post helped Elizabeth City Police identify and locate the suspect of a hit-and-run incident involving a 3-year-old this week.
As Newport News Fire Chief Scott Liebold plans to retire at the end of this month, the city is looking for his replacement -- and they want your help.